100 MPH eBike

Question

Alex asked: Electric bicycles are becoming more popular. They usually can go between the speeds of 20 and 40 miles per hour. Lets say that I make an electric bike with a big electric motor and it can go 100 miles per hour. Could I get a speeding ticket or a reckless driving charge for riding a bicycle that fast?

Answer

If you are exceeding the posted speed limit anywhere in any vehicle, you are subject to a citation. Reckless driving is defined as follows.

s. 316.192Reckless Driving

(1)(a) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.

Such a vehicle would need to be registered as a motorcycle to be road legal and avoid other charges.

s. 316.003 – Definitions

(43) Motorcycle – Any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.

Posted in Ask Geo, Motorized Bicycles
4 comments on “100 MPH eBike
  1. Keithmj says:

    Most State have bike laws that say 20mph is the top speed unless on private property. I would say do your own research or just build it and go that fast to see what happens. Good luck.

  2. Geo says:

    There is no such law in Florida. The definition of an ebike limits the speed under motor power to 20 miles per hour. The bike can be used to travel at any safe and legal speed.

    • Keithmj says:

      What am I missing? What would Status 316.003(2) Bicycle be? If it limits the speed to under 20mph. I know a bike can go as fast as you can pedal. Is there a difference? Thanks

  3. Geo says:

    I think we are saying the same thing, just in a different way.

    The difference is that the ebike electric motor can provide power up to 20 miles per hour then cut out, with the rider relying on human power above that. It is still a legal ebike, but without motor power being applied.

    Here’s a definition from People For Bikes
    “CLASS 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20mph.”

    The class system is not in place in Florida, but the Class 1 they define is about the same as the FL statutory definition of ebike.

Leave a Reply